Latest From Our Blog

8 Limbs of Yoga

8 Limbs of Yoga

Based on Patanjali’s The Yoga Sutra there are eight limbs of yoga. A path leading to enlightenment… connecting to the divine.

I’ve talked about how yoga is the melding of mind body spirit… mindbodyspirit. The eight limbs help you… meld. Over the next few weeks I’d like to discuss the various limbs within the limbs. They are like limbs on a tree, one is not better than the other. Simply they are branches that make a tree. Make you, make the universe, make goodness. I’m going to give you my take on each of the branches in a series.

The eight limbs are:

Yamas: essentially rules of morality; maybe not rules per say, but examples or characteristics to live by

Niyamas: paying attention to yourself; rules for self in a way. Niyama’s are observing personal actions

Asanas: physical postures; this is what most of western culture think of as yoga

Pranayama: breathing; focusing, controlling one’s breath

Pratyahara: sense control; essentially observing emotions and senses

Dharana: concentration and focus; focusing the mind on one thing (inner focus in a way)

Dhyana: meditation

Samadhi: union… hey didn’t I say that yoga is yoking, merging, melding the mindbodyspirit at one point? Union.

Robyn Boettner

Robyn is the resident yoga instructor on this site. I have been practicing yoga since 2000 and became a Certified Integrative Yoga Teacher in 2005. I became a teacher to learn more about yoga and integrate it more into my lifestyle. I then realized that I wanted to make yoga accessible to everyone. I have taught at Y's (YMCA & YWCA), community centers, community colleges, and various other locations throughout the decade. I hope that through this blog we can explore yoga together.

No Comments

Leave a Comment